“Intrepid Pens and IdeFix: Pen Pals!”

Posted: February 21, 2011 in Book Club Forum, Creative Writing Circle

A few months ago Intrepid Pens received a letter from an English teacher in Berlin. She’d seen an article about us in an online Canadian newspaper, and was inspired to get in touch. Her name was Sonja. Here’s what she told us:

Originally from Canada and now living (and studying) in Berlin, Sonja teaches ESL at a Berlin-based organization called IdeFix (http://idefixpunkt.org/).

IdeFix is “a reintegration, qualification, and occupational project for [recovering] drug users. The [program] offers daily structure, by means of activities and work for methadone substituted people.”

IdeFix began in 2002 as a project that aimed to provide meaningful activities in a safe environment for people who struggled with addiction. IdeFix offers participants, many of whom have been unemployed for years, the opportunity (through programs, classes, and services) to improve self-esteem and to hone their skills (“punctuality, commitment, and dependability”) in order to “later find their place on the job market”.

IdeFix participants, among other things, run a store that sells self-made products (ranging from dog food to dog accessories) and offer dog-sitting services.

Sonja had shared the article about Intrepid Pens with her Advanced ESL Students, and they were inspired to write to us. They thought, it turns out, that we might make good Pen Pals! They were keen to practice and improve their written English, and to learn more about North America. In fact, they thought the Downtown Eastside seemed like a place to which they could relate. And while Intrepid Pens is a group made up of women from all walks of life, some participants could certainly relate to their struggles.

I took the idea back to Intrepid Pens and they were thrilled that someone as far as Berlin was inspired by what we were doing; was keen to partner in some way. (And I thought Sonja was brilliant for having imagined such a wonderful partnership!)

Last week we received three letters. They were enthusiastic and honest and Intrepid Pens (excited to have received mail from across the globe) wrote back with the same enthusiasm and honesty.

And while the activity was fun (and inspiring) it also provided great fodder for a writing workshop. The group was able to explore a narrative style we haven’t yet covered in detail.

I think (hope) you’ll find the letters (and their enthusiasm and honesty) as magical as I did.

We’re doing one letter each week, so that at the end of the month, the IdeFix students will each receive between 15 and 20 replies from Intrepid Pens. The first letter we read was from a young woman who, out of respect for her privacy, we’ve called “D”. Her letter is below. The Intrepid Pens replies are in “Comments”. Click the link to view them.

>>> (January 5, 2011)

Dear Intrepid Pens,

My name is “D” and I’m 23 years old.

I’m from Berlin, Germany and I’m working in a social project called Idefix where I, amongst other things, joined the English class. In this lesson I have heard of you. We’re a group about 6 people. We are looking for penpals, which we hope to find amongst you.

My English is unfortunately not the best, but I hope that it will improve. Until then my dictionary will be my best friend. It would be nice to get to know you and to share stories with each other about our cities, our lives and so on. I hope to correspond with you!

I wish you a merry x-mas and a happy new year.

Friendly greetings, “D”

Comments
  1. Ghia Aweida says:

    April 23, 2011

    Dear D:

    I was overjoyed when I received your letter. My name is Ghia Aweida, and I am a member of Intrepid Pens. I have learned a lot over my years when I first came to Canada. I have lived at home for fifteen years, and when I moved to the Downtown Eastside. As you know, I am in the same boat as you, as English is not my first language either. I understand how it feels when you think in your own language before you write, for I have the same problem.

    I was born and raised in Beirut, Lebanon, and there I was surrounded by German from my early years. This is mainly because my uncle married a German, and he and his wife spoke German with his three sons, who currently reside in Halle, Germany; as well as being around my Paternal Grandmother, who loved to speak German. In Lebanon, I went to Elementary School until the age of twelve. I then moved to Cyprus at the age of twelve, where, not only I was a visitor, but also I was a pupil in High School. There, too, I struggled as I did not understand Cypriot Greek. Like you, D, I was infuriated and frustrated. One of my biggest struggles was English and comprehension. No matter how hard I have tried, I still got the lowest mark, as I had a mental block. For this reason, I was unable to, for the longest time, comprehend fiction. And when I did fiction, I was mostly frustrated, as I could not pinpoint, and to my disappointment, I was given a C as I gave it my best shot. Even, in Post Secondary, I felt the frustration, as I had to work harder than any other student on my term papers. This means I spent hours in front of the computer editing and making myself clear, until one day, an instructor pointed out to me that I have a challenge.

    When I left school, I found out that I did not have to stress myself with reading the novels and books that I did not enjoy. I was free to do the type of writing and reading that I so enjoyed doing, and for the sake of my learning. But when I took a course in continuing studies, I ensured that I have absorbed the course, due to the fact that I have made the choice to take the course. Here, I read in secret books of all sorts, as I chose subjects and books that I enjoyed reading. I look forward to a reply from you, as I look forward to seeing your own letters in the English language. At least, you are trying, and it is better than those who are not willing to try learning a new language.

    Yours Sincerely,

    Ghia

  2. Debbie Louise James says:

    Hello my new friend.

    My name is Debbie. I was very excited to learn that you heard about our group, Intrepid Pens.

    I joined the group last November. The ladies in the group were very supportive of me. I too am battling addiction, and I also just lost my partner to cancer on the 21st of December.

    The group we have is growing and we all look forward to our meetings. We do creative writing, such as poems and short stories, and we read books together. The group has definitely been a tool in helping heal my broken heart.

    I have lived in Vancouver since 1994. I came from Northern British Columbia, a place called Quesnel, BC. I was married there in 1988, and I worked as a waitress and at a bakery icing wedding cakes. I ate a lot of the baked goodies in the bakery, and I loved it, but my rear-end got too large.

    I am now single, looking to find a new friend or Pen Pal. I am a 46-year old with reddish blonde, long and curly hair. Some people say I look like Bette Midler, the movie star. I also love to sing and I play the piano. My favourite styles are Honky-Tonk and Bluegrass.

    I hope to hear from you!

    Your new Pen Pal,
    Debbie James

  3. Annie says:

    (Feb. 17, 2011)

    Dear “D”,

    Hello there! I’m glad you are doing your addiction recovery. Mine went well, and I found the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow, but it was really hard.

    Sincerely, Annie.

  4. Joan Morelli says:

    (Feb. 17, 2011)

    Dear “D”,

    I am a member of Intrepid Pens and I am very pleased that you wrote to us. My name is Joan and I am a longtime resident of the Downtown Eastside in Vancouver, BC.

    Your English seems to me to be excellent and I am sure that with the help of your dictionary your English will soon by superfluous.

    Although I have lived for many years in Canada, I was born in London, England. When I travelled in Europe, I was always fortunate to encounter German people who spoke English very well.

    Hoping to become your friend, Joan.

  5. Karen B. says:

    (Feb. 17, 2011)

    Hi,

    My name is Karen and I have been living down on the eastside for a very long time.

    You mentioned that your English inst that good. No worries! Mine isn’t either and I have been Canadian for 52 years.

    Yes, I think it would be nice to meet you, and to share stories with one another.

    Thank you “D”. Love to hear from you again.

    Sincerely, Karen B.

  6. Barb says:

    (Feb. 17, 2011)

    Hey “D”,

    I’m new to this group. Our leader, Amanda, read your letter to us – about twenty women in our group – which I really enjoyed. I thought, yeah, I’d love a pen pal. By the way, my name is Barb.

    I was born and raised in Vancouver, BC, but spent a bit of time in other places. I lived in Japan for 3 years, and I spent a bit of time in Australia and New Zealand.

    I volunteer at a homeless shelter. I’ve been helping there for about 12 years now.

    I joined this club mainly to get out and about, away from home and to meet new people.

    I’ve always wanted to learn your language, but it sounds very difficult. My ancestors were from Berlin – that’s why I’m so interested in writing to you.
    I hope you find the English language easy to learn.

    Hope to hear from you again.
    Bye from Vancouver.

  7. Debbie V. says:

    (Feb. 17, 2011)

    Hi “D”,

    My name is Debbie. I’m from Quesnel, BC. I’ve been in Vancouver for over 20 years. I came to the women’s centre for help. I’m a survivor of abuse in foster homes. We are a big family at the women’s centre. I don’t have a real family; my family is here.

    From Debbie V.

  8. Sonia says:

    (Feb, 17, 2011)

    Dear “D”,

    It was amazing to hear from someone all the way in Berlin. It inspired me to hear that someone all the way there has heard of our group of women who gather once a week to rediscover the joy of reading.

    I find in this day and age of computers and video games etcetera, one often overlooks the good old-fashioned book and the escape that lies between the covers.

    I have lived in the DTES for roughly six years. I really like the camaraderie I feel here. For the most part, we’re a bunch of good people that look out for each other.

    I grew up in Point Grey, which is a really posh neighborhood full of snobby people. Being Native in a white neighborhood was no picnic.

    I understand about learning English because when I went to Kindergarten I couldn’t speak it. My first language was Czech. I also spoke a little German and could fully understand it.

    By the way, my name is Sonia and I’m 46 years old.

    Yours truly,
    Sonia

  9. Stella August says:

    (Feb. 17, 2011)

    My name is Stella, and I’m an old lady (65 years old) living in the big city. I am a Nuu-chah-nulth First Nations woman, and a long-time resident of Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside.

    I am a woman with a strong voice for the Downtown Eastside – for homelessness, violence against women…

    I can tell stories, but I can’t write them. I am telling my story to Amanda right now; she is writing it for me. But thanks to the Book Club [and Writing Group], I am slowly learning how to read and spell, and I hope to go back to school soon.

    I’m also a survivor of the Residential School System and a lot of the time I live in fear and darkness. When anger comes out, I crawl back into my shell – fear I’m going to be punished. I can tell you many stories, but I’ll save some for later.

    It was nice to receive your letter. I hope to hear from you soon.

    Your friend always,
    Stella

  10. Shurli says:

    (Feb. 17, 2011)

    Dear “D” and classmates,

    What a pleasant surprise to receive your letter – especially to learn that you have come to know about us through your teacher, Sonja. I’m so pleased to hear that you are studying English. You write very well. I studied German for one year, so I know how difficult it is to learn a second language.

    We are very fortunate to have a book club and writing group, Intrepid Pens, that was so generously started by Amanda Grondahl, our teacher, here in the Downtown Eastside. The Downtown Eastside is considered to be one of the poorest postal codes in Canada. And although it is a very disadvantaged area financially, it is rich in cultural activities. We have the highest number of art galleries per capita in Canada.

    And obviously we love books. We are located in the Downtown Eastside Women’s Centre. Members are made up of very resilient women whose lives have been touched by trauma (and survived) – trauma such as homelessness, physical, emotional, and sexual abuse, and drug abuse. I don’t have an addiction issue, but I do have a mental illness.

    Thank you again for your letter.

    Shurli

Leave a comment